Out Port Maps

The statutory responsibility of Dublin Port Company as a harbour authority extends to the harbours of Balbriggan, Skerries, Bullock and Sandycove. While the inclusion of Bullock and Sandycove – situated as they are in Dublin Bay-  under Dublin Port statutory wing, might seem logical, the Port’s involvement with Balbriggan and Skerries has always been something of an anomaly, the harbours being at a distance of twenty miles and eighteen miles respectively from Dublin. The fact that the intervening harbours of Rush and the inlets of Malahide and Rogerstown are not within Dublin Port’s jurisdiction makes the situation all the more confusing.

Besides, Dublin Port has a historical relationship between the harbours of Howth and Kingstown/Dún Laoghaire. The port was directly involved in their construction. However, eventually none of them was ever transferred to the port authority. In the case of Coliemore, despite lying within the statutory limits of the port, the piers were built by the Dalkey Town Commissioners and currently Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown City Council owns the Harbour and is responsible for its maintenance.

Dublin Port Collections

Help us with the Archive

You can help us to preserve Dublin Port’s rich archival heritage by

donating items or seek advice from us on items in your safekeeping.

Get in touch by completing the contact form below.

We’d love to hear from you!